The Grammy Awards are back and are around the corner, with the nominations being announced just before Christmas and they have provided plenty of food for thought. Beyonce leads the way with nine nominations while Drake, Rihanna and Kanye West all have eight each. The most pleasing result may well be the incredible seven nomiations Chance The Rapper recieved given he is an independent artist who only releases mixtapes, a victory for real musicians against the corporate agenda. There are plenty of categoriess for people to try their hands at and I have decided to give my predictions for each award and also tell you who I would like to see win on the night. If you have any predictions yourself then feel free to get involved and have your say, I would love to hear your thoughts.

In order to be nominated for a Grammy Award this year, an album must be released between October 1st 2015 and September 30th 2016, meaning artists such as Childish Gambino, Lady Gaga and J Cole weren’t eligible for this year but will be for next year’s awards.

Album Of The Year

  • 25 – Adele
  • Lemonade – Beyonce
  • Purpose – Justin Bieber
  • Views – Drake
  • A Sailor’s Guide To Earth – Sturgill Simpson

I think that Beyonce is taking this one home and she probably deserves it, although I wouldn’t be surprised to see Adele or Bieber take it home. Just anyone but Drake because nobody should win such a prestigious award with an album like that.

Record Of The Year

  • “Hello” – Adele
  • “Work” – Rihanna ft. Drake
  • “Formation” – Beyonce
  • “7 Years” – Lukas Graham
  • “Stressed Out” – Twenty One Pilots

I would be shocked if Twenty One Pilots won this one because “Stressed Out” may well be a decent song but record of the year? Come on now. Don’t be shocked to see a Beyonce win again here given the cultural beliefs she preaches in the song but as a song, I think Adele should take it given how incredible a return it was for our Essex sweetheart. Rihanna is in with a shout, though so don’t rule her out.

Song Of The Year

  • “Formation” – Khalif Brown, Asheton Hogan, Beyoncé Knowles & Michael L. Williams II, songwriters (Beyoncé)
  • “Hello” — Adele Adkins & Greg Kurstin, songwriters (Adele)
  • “I Took A Pill In Ibiza” — Mike Posner, songwriter (Mike Posner)
  • “Love Yourself” – Justin Bieber, Benjamin Levin & Ed Sheeran, songwriters (Justin Bieber)
  • “7 Years” — Lukas Forchhammer, Stefan Forrest, Morten Pilegaard & Morten Ristorp, songwriters (Lukas Graham)

I am expecting a Bieber victory here and you couldn’t begrudge him of it, “Love Yourself” became a colossal hit and confirmed that the once public enemy number one was now actually alright and had a very strong voice. If “I Took A Pill In Ibiza” wins the Grammy’s should be boycotted because it just isn’t on the level of the rest of these tracks. Bieber the favourite but Beyonce and Adele close behind him.

Best New Artist

  • The Chainsmokers
  • Chance The Rapper
  • Maren Morris
  • Kelsea Ballerini
  • Anderson .Paak

I am rooting for Anderson .Paak and Chance The Rapper because they have brought the realness back to music, with Anderson .Paak pioneering this re-introduction of funk and soul into hip-hop and Chance proving you don’t need a label or even an album to become a star. I regret to inform you that although I do feel confident that Chance will take it, the plague of modern music The Chainsmokers have a very good chance simply because brainless EDM is something that people enjoy apparently.

Best Pop Vocal Album

  • 25 – Adele
  • Purpose – Justin Bieber
  • Dangerous Woman – Ariana Grande
  • Confident – Demi Lovato
  • This Is Acting – Sia

If this were my list, it’d be between Bieber and Adele and Adele would take it solely for her voice, seeing as this a vocal award, but I do think that Ariana Grande has a chance given the huge commercial success of “Dangerous Woman” and her reputation for having a stunning voice. I wouldn’t be surprised to see any of these win the award, except for Demi Lovato of course.

Best Pop Solo Performance

  • “Hello” – Adele
  • “Hold Up” – Beyonce
  • “Love Yourself” – Justin Bieber
  • “Piece By Piece (Idol Version)” – Kelly Clarkson
  • “Dangerous Woman” – Ariana Grande

Are you starting to see a trend with these nominations? I am getting pretty tired of saying that it could be between Beyonce, Adele and Bieber to be honest but it will be. I think Bieber will take it and I would quite like for him too, but “Hold Up” is one of the better tracks on that new Beyonce album so don’t count your chickens.

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance

  • “Closer” – The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey
  • “7 Years” – Lukas Graham
  • “Work” – Rihanna ft. Drake
  • “Cheap Thrills” – Sia ft. Sean Paul
  • “Stressed Out” – Twenty One Pilots

Although I do love “Cheap Thrills” I can’t live in a world where Sean Paul is a Grammy winner in 2017. Realistically speaking it will be between The Chainsmokers and Rihanna and I am begging for a Rihanna win for the good of music. “Work” is a serious banger too so that helps but my reasoning is simply because she isn’t The Chainsmokers.

Best Dance Recording

  • “Don’t Let Me Down” – The Chainsmokers ft. Daya
  • “Never Be Like You” – Flume ft. Kai
  • “Tearing Me Up” – Bob Moses
  • “Rinse & Repeat” – Riton ft. Kah-Lo
  • “Drinkee” – Sofi Tukker

I have everything crossed for Flume because of how brilliant a song that is, it has such a unique sound and given that this is often a category I am not a big fan of, it is lovely to hear some originality for a change. It will be between Flume and The Chainsmokers but we all know the dangers of radio play so I think The Chainsmokers might take this.

Best Dance/Electronic Album

  • Skin – Flume
  • Electronica 1: The Time Machine – Jean-Michel Jarre
  • Epoch – Tycho
  • Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future – Underworld
  • Louie Vega Starring…XXVII – Louie Vega

Once again this is a category I am not entirely knowledgeable about apart from Flume and I know how good that album was so I think it will take some beating, hopefully Flume comes home with a couple of Grammy’s and keeps the life in dance music.

Best Rock Performance

  • “Joe (Live From Austin City Limits)” – Alabama Shakes
  • “Don’t Hurt Yourself” – Beyonce ft. Jack White
  • “Blackstar” – David Bowie
  • “The Sound Of Silence” – Disturbed
  • “Heathens” – Twenty One Pilots

“Heathens” was a big hit but I really can’t see it winning this one, for me it will be close between Bowie and Beyonce, who has a lot to thank Jack White for because any neutral bypasser will wonder how on earth she made it into a Rock category. I would like to see David Bowie take it because the structure of “Blackstar” the song is absolutely fantastic and it probably is the best choice on the list.

Best Metal Performance

  • “Shock Me” — Baroness
  • “Slivera” — Gojira
  • “Rotting in Vain” — Korn
  • “Dystopia” — Megadeth
  • “The Price Is Wrong” — Periphery

I haven’t a clue quite frankly. I will pick Korn because they did “Freak On A Leash” and that’s a banger, I will ignore Megadeth because they are one of the bands I can’t topple on Guitar Hero so screw you, Megadeth. I do apologise to any metal fans, it just isn’t my scene but I didn’t want to leave it out.

Best Rock Song

  • “Blackstar” – David Bowie
  • “Burn The Witch” – Radiohead
  • “Hardwired” – Metallica
  • “Heathens” – Twenty One Pilots
  • “My Name Is Human” – Highly Suspect

This is a very tough one for me, it is between Bowie and Radiohead and I am trying my hardest to be impartial and judge it purely on a musical basis, something I guarantee the Grammy’s will not do. I think on this occasion I would give it to Radiohead but David Bowie will 100% win the actual award, I am certain of it.

Best Rock Album

  • California – Blink-182
  • Tell Me I’m Pretty – Cage The Elephant
  • Magma – Gojira
  • Death Of A Bachelor – Panic! At The Disco
  • Weezer – Weezer

This is a good list on paper, but do not be fooled by Blink-182, that album was truly woeful. It could be a three horse race between Weezer, Panic! and Cage The Elephant and I am rooting for Panic! because I enjoyed the hell out of that album. Will it win? I’m not so sure, I have a worrying feeling that Blink might take it but Weezer have a chance too.

Best Alternative Music Album

  • 22, A Million – Bon Iver
  • Blackstar – David Bowie
  • The Hope Six Demolition Project – PJ Harvey
  • Post Pop Depression – Iggy Pop
  • A Moon Shaped Pool – Radiohead

Now this is an interesting and stacked list. Bon Iver may well win it given their return to music and the reputation they have at this awards’ show, as could Iggy Pop thanks to the supergroup help he got from the likes of Joshua Homme and Matt Helders. I do think it is a two horse race between David Bowie and Radiohead and on quality of music, Radiohead edge it, but the Grammy’s will give it to Bowie and I wouldn’t be disheartened by that at all, it is a fantastic way to celebrate the man’s legacy. Radiohead’s album is the best one on the list, though.

Best R&B Performance 

  • “Turnin’ Me Up” – BJ The Chicago Kid
  • “Permission” – Ro James
  • “I Do” – Musiq Soulchild
  • “Needed Me” – Rihanna
  • “Cranes In The Sky” – Solange

I think this could be another victory for the Knowles family with Beyonce’s sister Solange taking the award for her lead single “Cranes In The Sky” which is a beautiful track. I loved BJ The Chicago Kid’s work on “Turnin’ Me Up” but I think it might be a bit of a long shot going for him, Rihanna is in with a shot, though without doubt.

Best R&B Song

  • “Come And See Me” – PARTYNEXTDOOR ft. Drake
  • “Exchange” – Bryson Tiller
  • “Kiss It Better” – Rihanna
  • “Lake By The Ocean” – Maxwell
  • “Luv” – Tory Lanez

This is wide open really, I wouldn’t begrudge any of these winning given that they are all big hits. With that being said, no hit is bigger than “Exchange” by Bryson Tiller and he is 100% deserving of the award given his meteoric rise and the sheer originality he has brought to the table. Don’t be surprised to see any of these win, however, particularly Tory Lanez or Rihanna.

Best Urban Contempary Album

  • Lemonade – Beyonce
  • Ology – Gallant
  • We Are King – KING
  • Malibu – Anderson .Paak
  • ANTI – Rihanna

Beyonce will walk this award I am sure of it but my opinion would be that Anderson .Paak runs her very close given the instant success of Malibu and where he has gone as a result of it. Rihanna better not win this award with that album, it is genuinely one of the worst albums I have heard in the past few years and the highlight of it is a Tame Impala cover so that says it all.

Best Rap Performance

  • “No Problem” – Chance The Rapper ft. 2 Chainz & Lil Wayne
  • “Panda” – Desiigner
  • “Pop Style” – Drake ft. The Throne
  • “All The Way Up” – Fat Joe & Remy Ma ft. French Montana & Infared
  • “THat Part” – ScHoolboy Q ft. Kanye West

This should be Desiigner’s award because really “Panda” is the biggest song of 2016 alongside “One Dance” by Drake and it is better than the rest on this list. “Pop Style” is hardly a world beater of a track and “THat Part” is ruined by Kanye’s verse. It would be nice to see a ScHoolboy Q or Chance The Rapper win but I am sure Desiigner will provide us with a wonderful acceptance speech.

Best Rap/Sung Performance

  • “Freedom” – Beyonce ft. Kendrick Lamar
  • “Hotline Bling” – Drake
  • “Broccoli” – D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty
  • “Ultralight Beam” – Kanye West ft. Chance The Rapper, Kelly Price, Kirk Franklin & The-Dream
  • “Famous” – Kanye West ft. Rihanna

It would be highly controversial if “Famous” won given the Taylor Swift line but my god would it be funny. Any of these would be worthy winners really but I think “Hotline Bling” will take it because of the widespread listening it got and the memes that were created from it. I would like D.R.A.M. and Yachty to win it, though because I have an unhealthy obsession with that song and would love to see Yachty do the Dougie on stage like he said he would.

Best Rap Song

  • “All The Way Up” – Fat Joe & Remy Ma ft. French Montana & Infared
  • “Famous” – Kanye West ft. Rihanna
  • “Hotline Bling” – Drake
  • “Ultralight Beam” – Kanye West ft. Chance The Rapper, Kelly Price, Kirk Franklin & The-Dream
  • “No Problem” – Chance The Rapper ft. 2 Chainz & Lil Wayne

This is an interesting one because in terms of a song, I can see “No Problem” taking it which would be such a huge achievement for Chance but I could also see “Ultralight Beam” winning it thanks mainly to Chance’s verse in all honesty. “Hotline Bling” is another contender and it will be close, I want “Ultralight Beam” to win but I think it will be “Hotline Bling”

Best Rap Album

  • Coloring Book – Chance The Rapper
  • The Life Of Pablo – Kanye West
  • And The Anonymous Nobdoy – De La Soul
  • Major Key – DJ Khaled
  • Views – Drake
  • Blank Face LP – ScHoolboy Q

This is a two horse race if it were down to me, it is between Chance and Kanye and I think I would just edge it Kanye’s way but I wouldn’t be ashamed to give it to Chance at all because ‘Coloring Book’ was stunning. But it isn’t my choice, because this is the Grammy’s I am anticipating a Drake victory to crown the most undeserved Album Of The Year award in years. Again I would love to see ScHoolboy take it but I think he will just come short.

 

Notable absences:

  • Travis Scott – Birds In The Trap Sing McKnight
  • KAYTRANADA – 99.9%
  • Danny Brown – Atrocity Exhibiton
Leave a Reply

