Welcome along to a brand new series here on Music 4 The Masses and I am going to call it ‘Playlist of the month’. It is a basic premise and it will come to you every single month where I will publish the ten songs I have been listening to most over the past month. The songs can vary from brand new to very old, from trap to acoustic; but one thing is for certain and that is that all these songs are absolutely brilliant. I hope you enjoy this new idea and I look forward to documenting my personal music choices to you each and every month. Let’s crack on with it.

Migos – Bad and Boujee (feat. Lil Uzi Vert)

Image result for migos culture album cover

Anyone who even remotely knows me won’t be shocked to see this song in there, it is the best song of all time after all. Labelled ‘the new Beatles’ by Donald Glover, Migos have broke the mainstream and are now cult figures, just months after being rejected by every single station and talk show for their style. Bad and Boujee is a song that has now got over 100 million plays on Spotify and for a group like Migos to have achieved that in such a small space of time is remarkable, but don’t think they’re done here. The future is Migos, I assure you they won’t be like Desiigner.

Travis Scott – beibs in the trap

Image result for bittsm album cover

Now in my initial review of this album I rated this as a fairly middle of the road song in comparison to the other songs, I still enjoyed it I just felt other songs were better (wonderful, pick up the phone etc.) but I have rediscovered this song and now adore it. Nav’s feature is fantastic and for me it ranks up there with Andre 3000’s performance as one of the best features on the album. It’s just a class trap song and if you’re not into that then you won’t like this song but if you are then please give it a bash. Is it really a list of mine if Travis Scott doesn’t make an appearance.

Mac Miller – Dang! (feat. Anderson .Paak)

Image result for divine feminine

I think I have been bumping this song for a bit too long now, like it is approaching half a year of this never leaving my playlists and still it sounds slick and cool to me. Easily my favourite Mac Miller song and it comes mainly thanks to the brilliance of feature artist Anderson .Paak, aka the future of music. The soul and the funk he adds to this song is just special, a truly awe-inspiring talent who is destined for greatness and he has helped Mac Miller create a real toe-tapper here. I also really like the cheeky lines in this song and the beat break-ups to throw in a few ad-libs.

Underworld – Born Slippy

Image result for born slippy nuxx

With T2 Trainspotting arriving at it’s destination (the cinema) this month it was hard to not include the song which, arguably, makes the film so memorable. It really is incredible how a film about heroin addicts has become such a cult phenomenon across the United Kingdom but we are grateful for it featuring this, only rivalled by Faithless’ ‘Insomnia’ as the greatest dance track of all time. If you can meet someone who knows all the words to it then do me a favour and shake their hand, that is some accomplishment and a serious amount of dedication.

The xx – Test Me

Image result for the xx i see you album

This is the last song on The xx’s new album which was released this month, so I was always going to be listening to it a lot because of how much I love The xx. The reason I picked this one over a very good selection of songs is because it is the one that reminds me most of an older xx sound, one that brings me back to that stunning debut album and that is the sound I think they should crave to find once again. The vocals sound like they’re directed at each other so that direct address makes for fantastic listening and well, what more can I say about Jamie xx’s production skills? The man is a borderline genius and is yet to show me otherwise, he has not a single blemish on a staggering collection of music. Dark, haunting and down right mystical, I love this song so much.

The Stone Roses – Elephant Stone

Image result for elephant stone stone roses

I have had a bit of a Stone Roses revival recently after having a serious detox from that summer of constant lemons and singing I Am The Resurrection full blast. But now I am back on the bandwagon if you will and this song has stood out above all others as the one I keep going back to, mainly for that drum beat at the start of the song which is just different class from Reni. The whole song, much like many songs from The Roses, has a beautiful sense of freedom and Britishness to it, it’s like having a weight lifted off your shoulders every time you hear it, top draw stuff from a top draw band.

Flo Morrissey and Matthew E. White – Thinking Bout You

Image result for flo morrissey and matthew e. white

Now I’m not usually one who goes crazy for cover albums but I know a blinding rendition of a song when I hear it and this one from Flo Morrissey and Matthew E. White is absolutely that. It takes a couple of brave souls to cover any Frank Ocean song given the dexterity and variety he possesses in his vocals, but the duo pull it off incredibly and maintain the structure and context of the song while adding a completely new genre to the mix of this one, using the wonderful synthesisers and autotune devices to maximum effect. Flo is amazing on the chorus and she really steals the show. I am sure Frank will approve of this as they do the song massive justice.
Young Thug – Wyclef Jean
Image result for wyclef jean young thug
 The music video that everyone is talking about, Young Thug is without doubt one of the more polarising figures in music and it is this song that confirms all of our beliefs that he is truly a global treasure. If you haven’t seen the music video then please watch it because it will change your opinion on the song itself as well as the policy of music videos as a whole. There is a post coming up about the video and how it could change the way artists do videos from now on so look out for that, but for now just bump this song from Thugger, a legend in the making.
Post Malone – Big Lie
Image result for post malone stoney
 This for me confirmed what we could see for a while, that Post Malone has achieved a sonically better album than Bieber could manage with ‘Purpose’ and this song played a big part in the decision process. Post was a support act for Bieber on his Purpose tour and we knew he would walk in similar areas to JB to we didn’t think he had the quality to make an album this good. Trap bangers, soulful acoustics and White Iverson, what more do you want? Big Lie is my choice for the catchy hook and the great beat drop on it but it really could have been any of them because I have been listening to this album cover to cover all month.
Kasabian – Vlad The Impaler
Image result for kasabian west ryder pauper lunatic asylum
Ever since they were announced to be headlining festivals I became giddy with excitement at the prospect of seeing them live, something I am unfortunately yet to experience. Those who will attend Benicassim or Reading & Leeds are in for a treat given the reputation Kasabian have as live performers, not to mention the fact they have bangers like this one. The bass riff on this tune is the stuff of gods from Leicester’s finest export Sergio Pizzorno and the whole aurora of the song is full of attitude and it’ll drive a crowd crazy with energy. With a comeback album on the way and a new song that has been previewed on the new FIFA game, it is a very good time to be a Kasabian fan that is for sure.
Leave a Reply

